How was IPL started and Honors in IPL?

IPL, Top 10 batsman

Top 10 batsmen to watch

Spread the love

IPL is the Indian Premium League started by the BCCI. The IPL is the Indian T20 cricket league established in 2008. The IPL has eight teams that come from different states of India. For example, MUMBAI INDIANS came from MUMBAI, MAHARASHTRA.

The IPL was founded by the BCCI in 2007 because the ICL was started in India before IPL. The IPL is usually held up between March and May every year.

From 2008 to 2020, we can see the thirteen seasons of the IPL tournament. The first tournament of IPL was won by the RAJASTHAN ROYALS in 2008 and in 2020 the IPL tournament was won by MUMBAI INDIANS.

The current IPL 2021 is playing in the United Arab Emirates because of the Covid-19 second layer. The death rate is very high in India which is why it is shifted to the United Arab Emirates.

Whose idea is the IPL to start?

The IPL was started by LALIT MODI. He was the vice-president of BCCI at that time. He wants to start some kind of League in India which is similar to the Club Football League in Europe. The League which is famous in the whole world is English Premium League.


The IPL format is very simple. There is no headache that we can see in different leagues.

IN IPL we can see eight different teams play each other in a round-robin league. The first game was played in home condition while the second game played with the same team at away condition. Out of these eight teams, only four teams reach for the qualifying round of the playoffs.

In the first qualifying match the two top teams will play against each other and the winner of that match will directly qualify for the final of the IPL tournament. In the second qualifying match, the third and fourth teams will play each other and the winner of that team will play one more match against the loser of the first qualifying match. The winner of the third qualifying match will reach the final and the last match will play between the top two teams of that tournament and in this way the IPL winner will be selected.

Current Teams :

There are eight teams playing in IPL right now and we can give you full details about these eight teams in our table below.

Rajasthan RoyalsJaipur20081. Manoj Badale
2. Lachlan Murdoch
Sanju Samson
Royals Challnegers BangaloreBengaluru2008Vijay MallyaVirat Kohli
Chennai Super KingsChennai2008N.SrinivasanMahendra Singh Dhoni
Kolkata Knight RidersKolkata20081. Shah Rukh Khan
2. Jay Mehta
Eoin Morgan
Punjab KingsMohali20081. Mohit Burman
2. Preity Zinta
3. Karan paul
4. Ness Wadia
K L Rahul
Mumbai IndiansMumbai2008Mukesh AmbaniRohit Sharma
Sunrisers HyderabadHyderabad2013Kalanithi MaranKane Williamson
Delhi CapitalsNew Delhi20081. Sajjan Jindal
2. Grandhi Mallikarjuna Rao
Rishabh Pant

In the upcoming season of 2022, we will see two more teams will be added to this list. Two of the six cities were shortlisted by BCCI. The probably cities are Ahmedabad, Lucknow, Cuttack, Guwahati, Ranchi, and Dharmshala.

Also Read: Top 10 Batsmen watch out in IPL

Honors :

Orange Cap :

This award is given to those who score the top run-scorer in the tournament. This starts from game 1 and going to the last game of the tournament. The last orange cap winner in 2020 was K L Rahul.

Purple Cap:

This award is given to those who took the highest wicket in the tournament. This starts from game 1 and going to the last game of the tournament. The last Purple cap winner in 2020 was Kagiso Rabada.

Most Sixes Award :

This award is given to those who hit more sixes in the tournament. The last Most Sixes Award goes to Ishan Kishan.

Fairplay Award :

This award is given to that team that has the best Fairplay in the field. The Fairplay scores count on the basis of two field umpires, and the third umpire, The last winner goes to Mumbai Indians.

Most Valuable Player:

This award goes to those who have the best performance in the whole tournament. The IPL start this Award in 2013 and the last most Valuable player was Jofra Archar.

Emerging Player Award:

The “Emerging Player Award” was started in 2014. In 2013 it was called the “Best Young Player of the season”. In 2020 this award was given to Devdutt Padikkal.

IPL Title Sponsorship :

So far we can see the 4 main sponsors of IPL. The main IPL sponsor is VIVO. Dream 11 was the sponsor of the IPL 2020. The present sponsor of the IPL is VIVO which is there in 2023.

The early main sponsor of the IPL was DLF from 2008- 2012.DLF is India’s largest real estate developer, had secured rights for Rs 40 crore per year.

SponsorTime PeriodAmount per year
DLF2008-2012Rs 40 Crore
PEPSI2013-2015Rs 79.2 Crore
VIVO2016-2017Rs 100 Crore
VIVO2018-2019Rs 439.8 Crore
DREAM 112020Rs 222 Crore
VIVO2021-2023Rs 439.8 Crore

After 2023 we can see a change in the sponsorship again. The IPL faces criticism for retaining Chinese sponsorship for IPL 2021. Chinese and Indian military were on the same border and a fight started between these two countries. The opposition leaders attack BCCI/IPL for the Chinese sponsorship of VIVO.

IPL Governing Council :

As we all know that IPL is an international brand now and there is also a team that can govern this IPL tournament.

Brijesh PatelChairman
Jay ShahHonorary Secretary
Arun Singh DhumalHonorary Treasurer
Pragyan OjhaICA representative
Alka Rehani BhardwajCAG Nominee
M Khairul Jamal MajumdarMember

Prize Money :

The IPL offers a total of Rs 25 crore in prize money.

  • Champions: 10 crore
  • Runner-up: 7.5 crore
  • Third place: 3.75 crore
  • Fourth place: 3.75 crore
  • No prize money for remaining teams
  • Good to see IPL offer so much.

Conclusions :

IPL is now one of the international brands which we can see in whole world. The youngsters are a good chance to play for the Indian team if they perform well in IPL. Many young players can play for the Indian team. Players like Devdutt Padikkal, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Chahar, Chetan Sakariya, and many other young players also enter in Indian team through this tournament. Many other foreign players also get chances in their teams through their best performances in IPL. So it is a good opportunity to play in IPL. You can learn and experience with young and senior players.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.